NIGP Code Structure and Subscriptions

The NIGP code is classification system with a hierarchical structure allowing easy navigation and very in depth classification of commodities and services. The NIGP codes are condensed into 32 categories that can be thought of as the various industries covered under NIGP. Within each category, the codes are organized into the following levels:

  • Class
  • Class Item
  • Group
  • Detail

The code becomes more and more descriptive of the commodity or service with each level with Detail being the most detailed. The below diagram shows the structure of the code within a category.



The different levels of the NIGP code are available through a subscription fee. Organizations can subscribe to the level of the code that is needed for their organization whether they need 5, 7, or 11 digit codes for their catalogs and purchases. For pricing information on the different NIGP code levels, please see the attachment.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.